Charter Standard


FA Community Standard Presentation

Alok Sharma, the Member of Parliament for Reading West, on 1 January 2014, visited the Madejski Stadium to watch Reading FC play Nottingham Forest FC and to present local community football club, Barton Rovers, with a Football Association Chartered Standard Community Club award, the pinnacle of grassroots football accreditation. Alok presented a plaque and certificate to Sandy Kapila, Charter Standard Co-ordinator and John White, Club Welfare Officer, in front of 19,873 people during the half time break.

The FA Charter Standard programme supported by McDonald’s is a kitemark, which recognises and rewards high quality levels of provision in club and league football. The kitemark is awarded to clubs and leagues that are well run, sustainable, which place child protection, quality coaching and safety paramount.

There are three levels of FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs to recognise the different standards. The entry level is an ‘FA Charter Standard Club’, the next level is an ‘FA Charter Standard Development Club’ and the most advanced ‘FA Charter Standard Community Club’. Each advanced level requires additional criteria to be met.

Criteria for achieving the entry level award include having a trained Welfare Officer, CRB checks for all volunteers, Emergency Aid-trained volunteers linked to each team, Respect programme sign-up, a Level One coach for each youth team, appropriate club administration in place and a volunteer co-ordinator.

The ‘hidden’ benefits are key to most clubs working towards the kitemark. By achieving an FA Charter Standard Club Award, you are demonstrating to all members, parents, sponsors and the public, that you are a well-organised, safe Club offering opportunities for all.

The kitemark lasts for one season and will be renewed each year as part of the club reaffiliation process. Kitemark awards can be withdrawn if a club has a poor disciplinary record, fails to attend in-service FA Charter Standard events or is unable to continue to meet the criteria.

The main FA Charter Community Club Criteria are:

•           a Football development Plan for three to five years

•           at least one level 2 coach with one of the teams

•           a minimum of ten teams covering mini-soccer, youth and adult football

•           Has a minimum of one male and female team

•           at least one coach who has attended the FA Youth module 2 with one of the teams

•           one person who has attended the FA mentoring adults course.